Recognition Honours Those Who Have Contributed SubstantiallyTo Enhancing Safety of Manitobans: Cullen

Three members of Manitoba’s fire service have been awarded with the Mary Beth Dolin Meritorious Fire Service Awards for their outstanding contribution to enhancing the safety of Manitobans, Growth, Enterprise and Trade Minister Cliff Cullen announced today.

dsc_0030“Each of these individuals recognized has demonstrated excellence, leadership and outstanding achievement in enhancing the safety of the people of Manitoba,” said Cullen. “Members of Manitoba’s fire service protect the safety and well-being of our families, friends and neighbours every day. When duty calls, they protect us through fire prevention, public education and rescue efforts. Their generosity of spirit and strong commitment to duty in the performance of these dangerous tasks serves as an inspiration to all.”

The individuals were recognized at a reception held at the Manitoba Legislative Building today. The recipients of the Mary Beth Dolin Meritorious Fire Service Awards announced today are:
• Andy Thiessen – fire chief of Morden Fire Department;
• Garth McIntyre – deputy fire chief of Glenboro-South Cypress Fire Department; and
• Jack Robertson – captain of Winnipeg Fire Paramedic Service.

The award was created to commemorate Mary Beth Dolin’s spirit of public service, which was exemplified by her unselfish dedication to duty, the minister said. Dolin was dedicated to public service both as a teacher and school administrator, and also as a member of the Manitoba legislature. Thiessen, McIntyre and Robertson are the 31, 32 and 33 recipients of this award.

This current week is Fire Prevention Week in Manitoba and the focus of this year’s campaign is knowing the age of smoke alarms. To find out more about Fire Prevention Week programs and activities across the province, contact the OFC at To learn more about smoke alarms and Don’t Wait – Check the Date! Replace Smoke Alarms Every 10 Years, visit National Fire Protection Association’s website at or




Andy Thiessen – fire chief of Morden Fire Department
Thiessen has been involved in the Manitoba Fire Service since 1982, serving both Killarney and Morden fire departments. His notable efforts in supporting fire service members includes spearheading a campaign to raise money for the Manitoba Fallen Firefighter’s Memorial by developing and selling a fire service challenge coin commemorating the 10th anniversary of the Sept. 11, 2001, terrorist attack. Thiessen has represented the Pembina Triangle Mutual Aid District as a director on the board of the Manitoba Association of Fire Chiefs and has served as president of the association.

Garth McIntyre – deputy fire chief of Glenboro-South Cypress Fire Department
McIntyre has been a member of the Glenboro-South Cypress Fire Department for 34 years. Serving as a dedicated teacher of fire services in the province, he is an instructor and evaluator for the Manitoba Emergency Services College and has held the role of training officer and lead instructor for the Turtle Mountain Mutual Aid District.

Jack Robertson – captain of Winnipeg Fire Paramedic Service
Robertson began his career in fire service with the Winnipeg Fire Paramedic Service in 1986. He has also served as the chief of the St. Andrews Fire Department and as first vice-president of the Manitoba Association of Fire Chiefs. Working on the advisory committee of the Manitoba Emergency Services College, Robertson has been instrumental in program development, delivery and evaluation. He has also actively advocated for and participated in the development of a partnership between the Winnipeg Fire Paramedic Service and the Shaughnessy Park School in North Winnipeg.